Thomas A. Summers, Acting Chairman Patricia L. Lee

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 12, 2025

The Honorable Christopher Wright Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Wright:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Tim Yeh of the Hanford Field Office as the 2024 Safety System Oversight (SSO) Engineer of the Year.

In 2024, Mr. Yeh provided oversight of the Waste Treatment and Immobilization Plant (WTP) Project, including supporting operational readiness of the Direct-Feed Low Activity Waste (DFLAW) facility and design changes for the High-Level Waste (HLW) facility. Mr. Yeh's unique skill set and strong technical background in software engineering, instrumentation and control, and electronics helped ensure important mission and safety goals. Further, Mr. Yeh served as an important mentor and provided key subject matter expertise to colleagues in the field office and the WTP project.

The Board also recognizes the Hanford Field Office leadership for supporting Mr. Yeh and promoting nuclear safety at the Hanford facility.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by the DOE SSO engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Yeh. The Board invites Mr. Yeh to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Thomas A. Summers Acting Chairman

Thomas A. Summers

c: Mr. Roger Jarrell, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Environmental Management

Mr. Brian Harkins, Acting Manager, Hanford Field Office

Mr. Tim Yeh, Safety Systems Oversight Engineer, Hanford Field Office

Mr. Joe Olencz, Director, Office of the Departmental Representative to the Board