Thomas A. Summers, Acting Chairman Patricia L. Lee

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 12, 2025

The Honorable Christopher Wright Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Wright:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy (DOE) has named Mr. Joseph Smith of the Savannah River Operations Office as the 2024 Facility Representative of the Year.

In 2024, Mr. Smith routinely demonstrated his effectiveness in providing oversight at the Savannah River Site. He led the Fast Critical Assembly Readiness Assessment and authored the Federal Plan of Action in support of the Mark-18A Target Material Recovery Program. In addition, he provided expertise in support of a conduct of operations assessment at the Waste Treatment and Immobilization Plant at the Hanford Site. Mr. Smith demonstrated critical skills in leadership, technical knowledge, problem resolution, and communication during these impressive accomplishments.

The Board also recognizes the Savannah River Operations Office leadership for supporting Mr. Smith and promoting nuclear safety at the Savanah River Site and across the defense nuclear complex.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the important contributions made by the DOE facility representatives and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Smith. The Board invites Mr. Smith to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Thomas A. Summers Acting Chairman

Fromas A. Summers

c: Mr. Roger Jarrell, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Environmental Management

Mr. Edwin Deshong, Manager, Savannah River Operations Office

Mr. Joseph Smith, Facility Representative, Savannah River Laboratory Office

Mr. Joe Olencz, Director, Office of the Departmental Representative to the Board