Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown

## **DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES** SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

July 16, 2010

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U. S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Chu:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Michael J. McAnulty of the Idaho Operations Office was recently honored with the 2009 Department of Energy (DOE) Safety System Oversight Annual Award. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by DOE's safety system oversight personnel, and we extend our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. McAnulty.

This was the first time that DOE has formally recognized safety system oversight personnel for their important contributions to the operational safety of nuclear facilities. The Board encourages DOE to continue enhancing and strengthening the safety system oversight program as a key technical resource for overseeing contractor management of safety systems at DOE's nuclear facilities, to ensure that those facilities will perform when, and as, required.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D.

15 SWA

Chairman

c: Mr. Richard B. Provencher Mr. Michael J. McAnulty Mrs. Mari-Jo Campagnone