John T. Conway, Chairman
A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman
John W. Crawford, Jr.
Joseph J. DiNunno
Herbert John Cecil Kouts

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 208-6400



March 27, 1996

Mr. Nicholas S. Dienes
Department of Energy
Albuquerque Operations Office
P.O. Box 5400
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87185-5400

Dear Mr. Dienes:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) wishes to commend you on the occasion of your retirement from the Department of Energy (DOE), Albuquerque Operations Office, after many years of dedicated service. During a time of great change, you displayed outstanding leadership across the full spectrum of responsibilities as the Director of Operations Management Division. The Board expresses gratitude for your significant contributions to the safety of the defense nuclear complex--most notably in nuclear weapons assembly and disassembly operations at Pantex.

Your personal actions and exceptional leadership were key to the successful effort to upgrade the standards being used for nuclear weapons assembly and disassembly work developed in response to the Board's Recommendation 93-1. Your formulation and direct, aggressive pursuit of a program to ensure the level of safety assurance provided by the Orders and directives applicable to facilities that assemble, disassemble, and test nuclear weapons were comparable to the level provided by DOE Orders and directives to other DOE defense nuclear facilities.

In addition, you played a pivotal role in the work being done to develop a disciplined approach to facility operations and operations at laboratory R&D facilities to protect workers, the public, and the environment, and to assure that an accident does not render a facility useless for national security-related activities.

The Board appreciates the high degree of technical competence, effective leadership, and personal commitment you have displayed throughout all of our interactions and wishes you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

c: The Honorable Victor H. Reis

Mr. Mark Whitaker Mr. Bruce Twining