[DNFSB LETTERHEAD]

March 26, 1996

Mr. James K. Magruder U.S. Department of Energy Nevada Operations Office P.O. Box 98518 Las Vegas, NV 89193-8518

Dear Mr. Magruder:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) commends you on the occasion of your retirement from the Department of Energy, Nevada Operations Office, after many years of dedicated service. During a time of great change, you displayed outstanding leadership across the full spectrum of your responsibilities as Assistant Manager for Operations. The Board expresses our gratitude for your significant contributions to safety of the defense nuclear complex, most notably in the area of nuclear testing and nuclear emergency response.

Your personal actions, and your exceptional leadership, helped to ensure preservation of safety aspects of the capability to conduct testing and experimentation in support of the United States' nuclear weapons stockpile. You formulated and directed the aggressive pursuit of a program to capture vital testing knowledge and experience that had not previously been documented, and which was about to be lost. This captured information has already proven invaluable in training those individuals who will be charged with preserving testing capability in the future, as well as safely and effectively executing experimental programs in support of stockpile stewardship.

In addition, you were instrumental in formally institutionalizing the suite of operational activities that comprise the underground nuclear testing program, including integrated safety management and the development of a new "Test Readiness Assessment" process. Your activities in support of the Nuclear Emergency Search Team, an essential national capability, have also been noteworthy.

The Board appreciates the high degree of technical competence, effective leadership, and personal commitment that you have displayed throughout all of our interactions. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway Chairman

c: The Honorable Victor H. Reis Mr. Donald Pearman Mr. Terry Vaeth Mr. Mark Whitaker