John T. Conway, Chairman

A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman

John W. Crawford, Jr.

Joseph J. DiNunno

Herbert John Cecil Kouts

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite_700, Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 208-6400



November 24, 1993

The Honorable Sam Nunn Chairman Committee on Armed Services United States Senate SR-228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510-6050

Dear Mr. Chairman:

In your Report 100-232, to accompany S. 1085, which was the basis for establishing the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board, among other objectives, it was stated that "The Board is expected to raise the technical expertise of the Department (of Energy) substantially" Since its inception in October 1989, the Board has been ever mindful of the Senate Armed Services' expectations.

In its last three annual reports to Congress, the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board has observed that: "... the most important and far-reaching problem affecting the safety of DOE defense nuclear facilities is the difficulty in attracting and retaining personnel who are qualified by technical education and experience to provide the kind of management, direction and guidance essential to safe operation of DOE's defense nuclear facilities." The need for such upgrading is further underscored by assessments made by a number of other groups over the past decade. The Board has taken several actions, such as recommendations and public hearings, to upgrade existing staff and recruit better qualified personnel. However, these previous efforts had not been coordinated DOE-wide and had been well short of the need.

On June 1, 1992 the Defense Nuclear Facilities issued Recommendation 93-3 entitled "Improving DOE Technical Capability in Defense Nuclear Facilities Programs." Essentially, it represents the Board's belief that a more aggressive, broad-based, and well-coordinated program directed at the enhancement of the technical capabilities of the DOE staff should be established and implemented. The Secretary's acceptance of the Recommendation was followed by an Implementation Plan that fully responded to the Board's recommendations regarding recruitment, retention, education, training and qualifications for technical personnel working in the defense nuclear complex. The extraordinary measures called for in the Implementation Plan will require dedication and commitment from the highest levels of DOE, as well as the full cooperation of technical managers throughout line organizations in the defense nuclear complex. Securing excepted appointment service authority for use

in hiring DOE technical personnel will be pivotal in obtaining the needed technical and managerial expertise.

This Implementation Plan comprises actions that are of singular importance to the mission of DOE's Defense Nuclear Facilities and to protecting public health and safety. The Plan is consistent with Presidential exhortations to all agencies of government for more effective delivery of services to the citizenry. Because of the importance of this Recommendation and DOE's Implementation Plan, the Board is forwarding the Plan and related documents to you before delivery of our annual report to Congress.

Sincerely,

Signed by John T. Com. 1/

John T. Conway, Chairman

Enclosures

OGC:RMAndersen:sah:11-23-93:x6387

bcc:

Board Members General Counsel Technical Director General Manager O/S (2)

The Following People Received Letters Identical to the Sam Nunn Letter w/Enclosures dated November 24, 1993

The Honorable Sam Nunn Chairman Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable Thomas S. Foley Speaker of the House

The Honorable Robert C. Byrd Chairman Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable J. Bennett Johnston Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Tom Bevill
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and
Water Development
Committee on Appropriations

Ms. Jeanne Wilson Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Floyd Spence Ranking Minority Member Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable John Spratt, Jr. Attn: Hugh Brady

The Honorable Strom Thurmond Ranking Minority Member Committee on Armed Services

Mr. Victor S. Rezendes
Director, Energy Issues
Resources, Community, and Economic
Development Division
General Accounting Office

The Honorable David Skaggs House of Representatives

Ms. Sue Sheridan Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce

Mr. Hunter Spillan
Staff Assistant, Subcommittee on
Energy and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable John Spratt, Jr. Chairman, Military Application of Nuclear Energy Panel Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable Strom Thurmond United States Senate

Ms. Mary Louise Wagner
Subcommittee on Energy, Research,
and Development
Committee on Energy and Natural
Resources

Ms. Marilyn A. Elrod Staff Director Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable J. James Exon
Chairman, Subcommittee on Nuclear
Deterrence, Arms Control and Defense
Intelligence
Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable Mark O. Hatfield Ranking Minority Member Subcommittee on Energy & Water Development Committee on Appropriations The Honorable J. Bennett Johnston Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Mr. Proctor Jones
Majority Clerk
Subcommittee on Energy and Water
Development
Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Trent Lott
Ranking Minority Member
Subcommittee on Nuclear Deterrence,
Arms Control & Defense Intelligence

The Honorable Jon Kyl
Ranking Minority Member, Military
Application of Nuclear Energy Panel
Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable John T. Myers
Ranking Minority Member,
Subcommittee on Energy and Water
Development
Committee on Appropriations

Dr. John E. Mansfield Professional Staff Member Committee on Armed Services

Mr. J. Dexter Peach
Assistant Comptroller General
of the United States
General Accounting Office

The Honorable Ronald V. Dellums Chairman Committee on Armed Services

Mr. Benjamin S. Cooper Staff Director Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Ms. Madelyn Creedon

Professional Staff Member Committee on Armed Services

The Honorable John D. Dingell Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce

Mr. Aaron Edmondson
Staff Assistant, Subcommittee on
Energy & Water Development
Committee on Appropriations

Dr. Leonard Weiss Staff Director Committee on Governmental Affairs